jump to navigation

Saturday Morning Apocalypse October 25, 2014

Posted by icelikediamonds in Uncategorized.
trackback

Saturday morning – the sun not yet up. I am the lone passenger on the bus.

The exchange is empty. Grey sky and a discarded facemask on the sidewalk (one of those white ones like painters wear). . . I should’ve taken a picture. There are no cars, but I press the walk button anyway and wait for the signal.

The mall is deserted and yet the theme song from Dirty Dancing is playing “.. The time of my life….” I cross the empty food court to the ladies’ room. Darkness. I flick the switch and the light stutters before completely turning on. I touch up my makeup around the eyes so I don’t look so much like a zombie.

A maintenance worker pulls their cart down the hall outside the door. Time to go to work. . .

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

