jump to navigation

A Ghost Story May 7, 2013

Posted by icelikediamonds in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

The sun is shining beautifully today, but I woke up with a shadow. 

Last night I dreamt about someone who is no longer in my life. Even though this person has not been there for many years now, I still feel a sense of loss when I remember the space that this person used to fill. 

It was not the person that died, but our friendship – and it haunts me like a hungry ghost. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I write you letters addressed from the past, but you never read them. Maybe I am the ghost. I try to reach you from across this expanse made of all the time that has gone by in your absence, but my words are swept away by the breath of things unsaid. 

Watching reruns of memories that started out in colour, but somehow have changed to black and white, I watch your eyes lose their brightness. You became increasingly hidden away from me. I recall the pain of you fading from view, slowly pulling that piece of light from my chest. 

I sit at our tombstone, looking through photos of you. It’s been years. I don’t know who you are anymore, but I know who you were. I don’t know where she went, but I love her still. All the things we said we’d do, all the places we said we’d go – I lay it down.

Is it better to leave this Ghost at the grave?

You will never read this, and even if you did, would you know it was for you?

Comments»

1. thesaintcynic - August 26, 2013

Hey, first off, great post. It really resonated with be because I too have lost a friendship that I considered invulnerable to either time or strain. Recently I had little choice but to destroy it completely and it hurts like hell.

Thanks for the post.

icelikediamonds - August 30, 2013

Thanks, cynic 🙂 It always helps to know that someone else is going through the same thing as ourselves.


Leave a Reply

