jump to navigation

Excuse Me, Do You Have the Time? July 26, 2010

Posted by icelikediamonds in Uncategorized.
trackback

8:18 pm.

Time to move on?

I watched “The Wedding Singer” this weekend (for the 72nd time). In this movie, there is a scene in which Adam Sandler’s character is attempting to console a young man who is disappointed that the girl he wanted to dance with refused him. Adam Sandler’s character says “Why would you want to dance with someone who doesn’t want to dance with you?” Thank you, Mr. Sandler.

Why as human beings do we waste time and energy and self wanting someone who doesn’t reciprocate the sentiment? The only thing we succeed in here is hurting ourselves. Why bother?

This leads me to another point. . . Games.

My heart is not a toy. Do not think that you can play with it. How ridiculous, these games of Cat and Mouse. “Playing hard-to-get. .” pointless. If you have a feeling, feel it. If you have a question, ask it.

What’s the worst that can happen? Rejection? So what. You only end up with one (unless you happen to be a polygamist). It may take a while to find them, but it’ll be worth the wait. 

Granted, sometimes you will meet someone who you believe with all your heart is “The One,” unfortunately, you may not be “The One” for them. And yes, it hurts. It hurts like hell. Though, I realize that this is probably not the last time I will ever be hurt in my life. I’d rather pry my toenails off with a rusty screwdriver than experience that again.

I’m learning to let go and I’m on no one’s time but my own. Mr. One (whoever you may be), you will be able to wait for me, and I believe that you will be worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

